Do You Know a Healthcare Hero?

There’s been a terrific response already to this year’s Staff Awards. Almost 230 nominations have already been received and the closing date isn’t until August 13, 2015. And remember the awards are open to all NHS and Serco staff across NHS Forth Valley – including admin and support staff –not just clinical staff. While many of those nominated are based at Forth Valley Royal Hospital, nominations are also encouraged for staff working in our community hospitals and community teams.

NHS Forth Valley Chief Executive Jane Grant said: “We want to hear about the many wonderful people who work in our organisation who go above and beyond the call of duty every day to deliver excellent care and treatment to patients. This is an opportunity for their colleagues, patients and members of the public to say thanks and show their appreciation. So if you know or work beside someone who deserves to be recognised we want to hear from you.”

The NHS Forth Valley Staff Awards aim to highlight the hard work, care and commitment of local NHS staff, Serco staff and volunteers. People can nominate an individual, team, service or department. It could be a secretary, nurse, doctor, receptionist, physiotherapist or one of the many volunteers who support the work of NHS Forth Valley. They could work in a hospital, health centre or in one of the many community health teams across Forth Valley.

There are six categories to choose from

  • Top Team Award
  • Inspiration Award
  • Outstanding Care Award
  • Volunteer Award
  • Innovation Award
  • Unsung Hero Award

Nominations can be made online at  Nomination forms are also available in the main public reception and waiting areas of hospitals across Forth Valley or can be obtained from Liz Walker on 01324 567390. Forms can be returned in the freepost envelopes provided.

Scottish Health AwardsScottish Health Awards

Nominations are also open for the 2015 Scottish Health Awards run by the Daily Record in partnership with NHS Scotland and the Scottish Government.

There are sixteen award categories to choose from to recognise the work of doctors, nurses, therapists, volunteers and unsung heroes. There are also specific awards for mental health, older people and women and children’s services as well as staff leading quality and innovation.  To nominate a colleague, team, service or department within NHS Forth Valley visit